Category Description: Elementary/Middle Grade Speculative Fiction

This past year has seen another excellent crop of wonderfully inventive speculative fiction books for kids! Along with the expected spells and space rockets and aliens, this is the category for books with talking animals, time-travel, ghosts, and paranormal abilities, and all the other books that might not have obvious magic on every page, and which are set here on Earth, but which push past …

Category Description: Elementary/Middle Grade Nonfiction

Kids are curious about the world around them and nonfiction is the perfect way to introduce them to that amazing world. History? Biography? Art? Science? Math? Animals? Sports? It’s all here and more besides! We love text and illustrations or photographs that will wow kids and adults alike and topics so fascinating that kids will want to go digging for …

Category Description: Easy Reader/Early Chapter Books

The Easy Reader / Early Chapter Book category of the Cybils covers the whole spectrum of titles for early elementary kids who are learning to read, from the very basic books for emergent readers to longer, illustrated titles for kids who are not quite ready for novels. What we’re looking for in easy reader nominations are leveled readers with controlled …

Category Description: Board Books

Just say the phrase “board book” and you’re bound to hear an “awww” or a “that’s so cute!” It happens in my house all the time (even with the teenager)! We share these books with our youngest readers to be. These are our child’s first stories – at playtime, before nap, and as bedtime stories. Opening a board book to …

Cybils 2017: Young Adult Speculative Fiction Judges

Round 1 Tanita Davis Finding Wonderland @tanita_s_davis Rebecca Smith-Allen The Winged Pen @RebeccaJ_Allen Lexie Cenni For the Sake of Reading @PRationality Karen Jensen Teen Librarian Toolbox @tlt16 Kimberly Francisco Stacked @kimberlymarief Sheila Ruth Wands and Worlds @sheilaruth Stephanie Charlefour Love. Life. Read. @scharle4 Round 2 Pam Margolis An Unconventional Librarian @Pamlovesbooks Wendy Gassaway Falconer’s Library @WendyGassaway C. Lee McKenzie  C.Lee …

Cybils 2017: Young Adult Fiction Judges

Round 1 Kim Baccellia   Si, Se Puede YA Books Central @ixtumea Kelly Hager   KellyVision  @Khager   Jenn Hubbs Lost in a Great Book @lostingreatbook William Polking Guys Lit Wire @polking   Haley Schaffer    Teachers Who Read  @hale27storm Pam Thompson Young Adult Books What We’re Reading Now  @PThompson_EMS Round 2: Dahlia Adler B&N Teen Blog  @MissDahlELama   Rebecca …

Cybils 2017: Junior/Senior High Nonfiction Judges

Round 1 Rebecca Aguilar Rebecca G. Aguilar @RebeccaGAguilar Anne Bennett My Head is Full of Books @headfullofbooks Louise Capizzo Nonfiction Detectives @lcapizzo Heidi Grange Geo Librarian @GeoLibrarian Julie Jurgens Hi Miss Julie! @himissjulie Round 2 Danyelle Leach Bookshelves in the Cul-de-Sac Thomas Maluck Richland Library @liberrytom Katy Manck Books YA Love @booksyalove Helen Murdoch Helen’s Book Blog @hcmurdoch Jennie Rothschild …

Cybils 2017: Graphic Novels Panelists

Round 1 Corrina Allen Books Between Podcast @corrinaaallen Alyssa Feller The Shady Glade Kristin Harvey The Book Monsters @bookgoil Benedict Hutchinson A Goblin Reviews Graphic Novels Mel Schuit Let’s Talk Picture Books @spiky_penelope Christa Seeley Women Write About Comics @christasbooks Alysa Stewart Everead @everead Round 2 Phil May ReadItDaddy @readitdaddy Ardo Omer Ardo Omer @ardoomer Sarah Stevenson Finding Wonderland @aquafortis …

Cybils 2017: Poetry Judges

Round 1 Sandy Brehl  Unpacking the Power of Picture Books   @PBWorkshop @SandyBrehl  Janeane Davis Janeane’s World  @janeanedavis Nancy Bo Flood The Pirate Tree Irene Latham  Live Your Poem  @irene_latham Jone Rush MacCulloch  Check It Out  @JoneMac53 Tricia Stohr-Hunt  The Miss Rumphius Effect  @missrumphius Bridget Wilson What Is Bridget Reading?  @bridgetrwilson Round 2 Linda Baie  TeacherDance  @LBaie Joy Acey Frelinger  Poetry …

Cybils 2017: Elementary/Middle Grade Speculative Fiction Judges

Round 1 Sherry Early Semicolon  @semicolonblog    Melissa Fox Book Nut @book_nut   Katherine Kramp  alibrarymama @alibrarymama   Debbie Tanner The Book Search  @imtanner2   Charlotte Taylor Charlotte’s Library @charlotteslib   Round 2 Mark Buxton Say What?   Halli Gomez The Winged Pen @Ninja_writes   Jenna Grose Falling Letters @fallingletters   Rosemary Kaladitis MomReadIt @roesolo   Brenda Tjaden Log Cabin …