Current Phase: Finalists Announced!

The 2015 Cybils Awards finalists have been announced! Round 1 judges engaged in a three month marathon of reading and judging, and selected these titles as the ones that best meet our twin criteria of literary merit and kid appeal. Judges were allowed to select no more than seven titles in each category, which really makes these the “best of the best.” 

View the 2015 finalists here.

A second panel of judges in each category will now read the finalists to select one winner per category. Winners will be announced on February 14, our valentine to the book world. If you’d like to follow along, you can subscribe to our newsletter or add our blog to your feed reader.

Featured Book

Girls Like Us

by Gail Giles

2014 Finalist · Young Adult Fiction

This is a poignant and painful story of two special ed girls (“speddies”) whose strengths and weaknesses are well-matched in ways that neither of them expect. Biddy and Quincy describe their own lives as well as each other, so we get a clear picture of these girls and we see the fears and the secrets ... [Read More]

Featured Blogger

Do you know a blogger  from the Cybils community who deserves to be our featured blogger of the week? It could be anyone who supports the Cybils community, whether or not they’ve ever been a judge. Send your nomination, along with a paragraph about the person and why you’re nominating them, to the Cybils Blog Editor Melissa Fox: blogeditor (at) cybils (dot) com

Cybils Awards Mission

The Cybils Awards aims to recognize the children’s and young adult authors and illustrators whose books combine the highest literary merit and popular appeal. If some la-di-dah awards can be compared to brussels sprouts, and other, more populist ones to gummy bears, we’re thinking more like organic chicken nuggets. We’re yummy and nutritious.

More Info

Important Dates

  • August 17: Call for judges
  • Sept. 9: Deadline for judging application
  • Sept. 17: Judges announced.
  • Oct. 1: Nominations open
  • Oct. 15: Nominations close
  • October 16-25: Publisher submissions
  • Oct. 1-Dec. 29: Round 1 reading period
  • December 1: Round 1 review copy deadline
  • Dec. 29: Short lists due from judges
  • Jan. 1: Finalists announced
  • Jan. 2-Feb. 12: Round 2 reading period
  • Feb. 12: Winners list due from judges
  • Feb. 14: Winners announced