Change Is Fun!!

Or: What’s New at the Cybils this year. 

We aren’t really changing anything substantial, but we thought we’d try out a few new things, just to see how they go. 

First: with the increasing number of good non-fiction titles out there, we felt that it would be best if we split both of the non-fiction titles into two award. The Elementary Non-Fiction will have two awards: one for pictures books and one for easy readers. The YA Non-Fiction will tackle the longer books: one for middle grade and one for YA. We think that will better reflect the non-fiction landscape out there. 

We are also going to have a couple of trial categories this year, to see how it goes. In Fiction Picture books, we will add board books as a sub-category. Watch for nomination specifications with the category descriptions later this month. And we’re adding Audiobooks as a category as a trial category this year. Stephanie Charlefour will be taking over as chair of that. 

Speaking of new chairs, we’re sad to be losing Jackie Parker-Robinson as our YA Fiction Chair. She’s been a driving force at the Cybils and we appreciate all she’s done. We’re happy to welcome long-time Kidlitosphere blogger and advocate Melissa Wiley as the new category chair. 

That’s all the changes (for now). Watch for the call for judges early next week!