Book Reviews: #CYBILS2023 Middle-Grade Nonfiction Finalists

start here 2023 WINNER The Mona Lisa Vanishes: A Legendary Painter, a Shocking Heist, and the Birth of a Global Celebrity Nicholas Day, illustrated by Brett Helquist Random House Studio Nominated by: KtStar Hilary @ Goodreads – Loved this. Day writes in a style that is irrestistable to the middle grade reader and never ceases to fascinate. The saying that reality …

FRI-YA | #CYBILS2023 Reviews 02.09.2024

Is it us or is there an uptick in the number of book descriptions and reviews that include references to other media [usually books or movies]? We bring you Exhibit A. Two of these statements came from the Goodreads description about the book, two-and-a-half came from our judges. Perfect for fans of All Out and Cemetery Boys Reminds Me Of: Ghosts, Be …

The IN be-TWEEN | #CYBILS2023 Reviews 02.07.2024

One week, friends! Just one more week until the 2023 CYBILS Awards winners are announced. You probably already added the finalists and winners to your TBR, and that’s cool, but our judges read A LOT of great books that, while not award winners, will definitely be winners with young readers. Yes, even picky tween readers. x See for yourself. Book …

Monday Books | #CYBILS2023 Reviews 2.5.2024

Lions and tigers and cats, oh my. Sorry, we couldn’t resist. But it’s true. Today’s roundup has those three creatures. But there’s more! This list of 2023-nominated books includes  include stories of family, friendship, feelings, and, well … see for yourself. And have a FANTASTIC Monday. Book cover and summary excerpt from Goodreads. Click to see more details and reviews. …

The IN be-TWEEN | #CYBILS2023 Reviews 01.30.2024

ttttt Summaries excerpted from Goodreads. Click the cover to read the full summary, other reviews, and add these books to your TBR. FICTION Jessica @ Cracking the Cover – You might know Chad Morris and Shelly Brown from their previous collaborations. All are strong middle grade novels. I enjoyed them all. But The Wild Journey of Juniper Berry is my favorite. …

Monday Books | #CYBILS2023 Reviews 01.29.2024

This week? Books for all your senses. With a nod to nature: a textured board book (watch out for the cactus) to things we cannot see (hold onto your hat, there’s a breeze today) to where colors come from! And a nod to creativity, ingenuity, and family: There are makers and artists, a party planner, birthdays to celebrate, and some …

Fri-YA | #CYBILS2023 Reviews 01.26.2024

High school nonfiction fun? A mystery that makes you laugh? A graphic novel by the director of a television show? Yes. Yes. And Yes. Read on … Book summaries excerpted from Goodreads. Click the cover to see the full summary and additional reviews. YOUNG ADULT FICTION Christopher @ Plucked from the Stacks – Sometimes a title tells you everything you …

The IN be-TWEEN | #CYBILS2023 Reviews 01.24.2024

I’m not even sure where to begin … Readers will move through time and space, both literal and figurative. They’ll meet characters with whom they will feel a kinship – and others who will draw out other emotions they may not know how to unpack. Big themes, big emotions, and still lots of joy, laughter, adventure, and brave new worlds. …

Monday Books | #CYBILS2023 Reviews 01.22.2024

What do we have this Monday? Lots of questions, mistaken identities, extraordinary animal award winners, an enchanted forest, a tall tale, and oh, a skunk for Valentines Day! Summary excerpted from Goodreads. Click book cover to see full summary and more reviews. Board Book Brooke @ Goodreads – A board book introduction to space that has a simple section (which rhymes) …

Fri-YA | #CYBILS2023 Books 1.19.24

How much did our judges love these books? One added a title to her Christmas Wish List to have her own personal copy. One put it on her purchase list to make sure she has it available for all her classes. Another, who doesn’t normally like poetry for storytelling, really enjoyed a novel in verse. A Fri-YAY, indeed! Have a …