Cybils Author Love!

Ever since posting our finalist lists, we've been incredibly flattered at the outpouring of author Cybils love on blogs, Twitter and elsewhere. Here's a sampling of some of the kudos we've noticed:

Jeannine Atkins, Poetry category finalist, blogged about us, saying "what great company to be in."

YA authors had a lot to tweet about: click the links to find out what Lucy Christopher, Courtney Summers, Swati Avasthi, and Tara Kelly had to say about being finalists. YA finalist Watt Key posted to his Facebook page: "DIRT ROAD HOME is up for its first award….I'm honored to be on the list." And, last but not least, some editor love in the YA category–Cheryl Klein, editor of Erin McCahan's I Now Pronounce You Someone Else, thanks the Cybils judges in a lovely blog post. (Erin McCahan blogged about it, too!)

Greg Neri, author of Graphic Novels finalist Yummy, posted about us on his Facebook page. Other graphic novelists gave us love on Twitter: Raina Telgemeier, Colleen AF Venable, and George O'Connor.

Loree Griffin Burns blogged about us, saying "I was thrilled and honored to see THE HIVE DETECTIVES on the Middle Grade/Young Adult Nonfiction List." NFMG/YA finalist Elaine Marie Alphin also tweeted about us. Paul Janeczko e-mailed us to say, "What a way to start 2011!" and "Every writer is pleased when readers who are Book People notice your book."

Lauren Tobia, author of Early Chapter Books finalist Anna Hibiscus, tweeted about us, and so did other EZ/ECB finalists Eric Wight, and Jacqueline Jules. The illustrious (pun intended) Mo Willems also blogged about us.

In Middle Grade Fiction, author Stuart Gibbs blogged about his book Belly Up being a finalist, and Alan Silberberg gave us props in a nice tweet.

In the Fantasy and Sci-Fi category, we got Twitter love from Jonathan Maberry, Royce Buckingham and Erin Bow.

Non-Fiction Picture Books finalist Matt Tavares tweeted about us, too, and so did Fiction Picture Books finalist Tom Lichtenheld, illustrator of Shark vs. Train.

Thanks to all our fabulous finalists for all the kind words, and congratulations on making the short lists!

–Sarah Stevenson, blog editor